11:37 AM

UHD Staff Recognized at Annual Awards Ceremony

On June 14, the University of Houston-Downtown (UHD) community celebrated the accomplishments of its dedicated staff members during the annual Staff Awards.

Presented by UHD Staff Council, staff members were recognized for their commitment to the institution and its students. Among the awards presented were the T. Chaney Anderson Excellence Award (named for the longtime administrator who contributed to UHD’s growth) and Staff Excellence Awards.

The ceremony—with a Houston Sports theme—was hosted by the UHD Staff Council At the event, attendees enjoyed refreshments and generous door prizes from local vendors.

Opening remarks were delivered by UHD President, Dr. Juan Sánchez Muñoz. In his remarks, Muñoz, who has worked at other institutions, emphasized UHD as being a very special place to work.

"Just look around, this doesn't happen everywhere," Muñoz said. "This kind of joy, collegiality and good will; it doesn't happen everywhere. This is a rarity and we should be very excited and very proud that it happens at UHD."

Gladis Moya, Staff Council president and Department Business Administrator II in Employment​ Services &​ Operations served as the master of ceremonies for the annual event.

Although the award ceremony is an annual event, it serves as a reminder of the hard work performed by staff members every day. Likewise, it is just one way of spotlighting those staff members who go above the call of duty in their service to the University.

Recipients of the 2018 Staff Council Awards are as follows:

Staff Excellence Awards:

  • T. Chaney Anderson Distinguished Excellence Award: Stephen Kidd

Staff Council Award:

  • MVP Award: Kris Zimmerman

5 Years

  • Justin Burton
  • Justin Clay
  • Jasmine Farina
  • Dr. Mike Fields
  • Dr. DoVeanna Fulton
  • Erica Flores
  • Richard Galvan
  • Justin Gill
  • Jordan Green
  • Edward Hugetz
  • Arthur Jackson
  • Karlyli Juarez
  • Burgundi Lemond
  • Jacob Lipp
  • Jesse Lopez
  • Ceshia Love
  • Alejandro Macias Romo
  • Fernando Maldonado
  • Carol Manousos
  • Sherrigo McNeil
  • Keyana Moseley
  • Matthew Munoz
  • Juan Carlos Novo
  • Nakia Oliver
  • John Pool
  • Lori Ramirez
  • Cheryl Robertson
  • Julio Rodriguez
  • Jacqueline Santiago
  • Bobbi Shaw
  • L. DeVrone Suggs
  • Susan Thompson
  • Marina Torres
  • Laura Valentine
  • Monica Villarreal
  • John Williams

10 Years

  • Cora Battle
  • Christopher Bowes
  • Nicasio Cervantes
  • Monica Comeaux
  • Mandy Danley
  • Gerrelyn Davidson
  • Javier Diaz
  • Elena Geilikman
  • Patricia Gutierrez
  • Preston Heng
  • Belinda Hernandez
  • Brady Hoffman
  • Wan-Yen Huang
  • Dr. John Hudson
  • Jean Claude Kalonji
  • Joshua McNabney
  • Victor Montejano
  • Franklin Phan
  • Eric Reimer
  • Eva Ryan
  • Kim Tran
  • Carol Tucker
  • Tracy Vennus
  • LaShonda White

15 Years

  • Dr. Liza Alonzo
  • Fahmida Dehlvi
  • Donna Dodson-Tibbs
  • Janet Dyer
  • Rob Lunsford
  • Dr. Justo Manrique
  • Delethia Murray
  • Steven Ring
  • Marvelia Rocha
  • Chandra Slaughter
  • Marc Williams

20 Years

  • Cynthia Conner
  • Ana Esparza
  • Dr. Charlie Finch
  • Carlos Garza
  • Bruce Greer
  • Albert Holden
  • Liem Nguyen
  • Cory Odstrcil
  • Hitesh Patel
  • Ben Robles
  • Rita Thomason
  • Dr. Akif Uzman

25 Years

  • David Deleon
  • Anthony Hodge
  • Irma Placencia
  • Rhonda Scherer

30 Years

  • David Bradley
  • G.V. Krishnan

40 Years

  • Linda Gilbert

Academic Awards (recognizing staff members who recently completed an academic degree)

  • Brenda Alvarez – B.B.A., Management
  • Cora Battle – M.B.A., with Management Emphasis
  • Erika Castillo – M.B.A., in Leadership
  • Maria J. Diaz – B.S., Psychology
  • Andrea Hain – B.S., Biology
  • Juan Ibarra, Jr. – M.B.A.
  • Dr. Alvin L. Johnson, Jr. – Ed.D., Higher Education Administration
  • Lourdes Ledesma – M.B.A., with Executive Emphasis
  • Elizabeth Lopez – B.S., Psychology
  • Lori Ramirez – M.B.A.
  • Justin Sarabia – M.B.A., in Leadership
  • Caroline Smith – M.B.A., in Leadership
  • Dr. Jemma Sylvester-Caesar – Ph.D., Leadership Studies
  • Jamil Thorne – M.S., Higher Education, Concentration in Enrollment Management & Institutional Marketing
  • Marina A. Torres – B.S., Interdisplinary Studies
  • John A. Williams – M.S., Learning Technologies, Instructional Systems Design

Retiree Awards

  • Dr. Chris Birchak
  • Mary Cook
  • Dr. Mike Fields
  • Christopher McCall
  • Cory Odstrcil
  • Elaine Pearson
  • Paulette Purdy
  • Jose "Angel" Rocha
  • Rita Thomason
  • Tommy Thomason

Fun Awards

  • Rookie of the Year: Caroline Smith
  • Whistle While You Work: Stephen Kidd
  • Goes the Extra Mile: Nichele Smith
  • Best Boss: Dr. Jemma Sylvester-Caesar
  • Rising Star: Savannah Fields
About the University of Houston-Downtown

The University of Houston-Downtown (UHD) is the second-largest university in Houston and has served the educational needs of the nation’s fourth-largest city since 1974. As one of four distinct public universities in the University of Houston System, UHD is a comprehensive, four-year university led by President Loren J. Blanchard. Annually, UHD educates approximately 14,000 students, boasts more than 66,000 alumni, and offers 45 bachelor’s degrees, 12 master’s degrees, and 19 online programs within four colleges: Marilyn Davies College of Business, College of Humanities and Social Sciences, College of Public Service, and College of Sciences and Technology. UHD has one of the lowest tuition rates in Texas.

U.S. News and World Report ranked UHD among the nation’s Best Online Bachelor’s Programs for Applied Administration and Best Online Master’s Programs in Criminal Justice, as well as a Top Performer in Social Mobility. The Wall Street Journal/College Pulse ranked UHD one of the best colleges in the U.S. for its 2024 rankings, with notable distinctions: No. 1 for diversity (tied) and No. 3 for student experience. The University is designated as a Hispanic-Serving Institution, a Minority-Serving Institution, and a Military Friendly School. For more information on the University of Houston-Downtown, visit uhd.edu.