12:13 PM

The Woman's Club of Houston Establishes Endowed Scholarship for Future Teachers

The Woman's Club of Houston (TWCH) - an organization that promotes philanthropy, education and community involvement in Houston - has had a longstanding relationship with the Urban Education Department in UHD's College of Public Service.

Since 1989, the Club has awarded more than $65,000 in scholarships to future teachers studying at UHD and a total of nearly $150,000 to students in the University of Houston System. Recently, the Club established a $50,000 endowed scholarship at UHD to support women who are studying to become teachers. Coordinated by Ginger Driver, vice president of philanthropy and scholarship at TWCH, and enthusiastically endorsed by members of the Club, the endowment will support many students in their academic pursuits.

The Club held a luncheon and check presentation Sept. 24 to commemorate the special milestone in the partnership between the two organizations. UHD President Bill Flores, College of Public Service Dean Leigh Van Horn and Vice President for Advancement Johanna Wolfe attended the reception, along with four current TWCH scholarship recipients.

"It is my joy this morning to represent the many students who will directly benefit from this generous gift," said Flores. "Through this endowment, these students will be able to enter the important field of education and, in turn, provide endless opportunities for students in classrooms across our region and state. For this reason, the endowment is truly a gift that will keep on giving."

Founded in 1893, The Woman's Club of Houston's has a mission to support the Houston community with a focus on women and children. TWCB has given in excess of $500,000 to students, hospitals and nonprofit organizations and has donated many volunteer hours in the Greater Houston area. The organization also was an original founder of the Houston Public Library. In addition to the UHD endowment, TWCH will fund operating scholarships for the 2015-2016 academic year and for the fall 2016 term.