08:48 AM

The Winners Are In! UHD Faculty Recognized For Teaching Excellence

2022 Faculty Award Recipients Announced


By Sheryl E. Taylor

A celebrated UHD tradition, this year’s Faculty Awards were presented at the 2022 Faculty Awards Ceremony. UHD Faculty Senate President-Elect Dr. Krista Gehring served as host with special guests President Loren J. Blanchard and Dr. Akif J. Uzman, Interim Senior Vice President for Academic & Student Affairs and Provost.

2022 Finalists & Winners (Noted In Bold)

Distinguished Faculty Award

  •  Dr. Qing “Ray” Cao, Supply Chain Management
  •  Dr. Edmund Cueva, Humanities
  •  Dr. Whitney Morgan, Management

Excellence in Teaching Award

  •  Dr. Rob McKee, Leadership & Entrepreneurship
  •  Dr. Candace TenBrink, Management
  •  Dr. Eszter Trufan, Chemistry

Excellence in Service Award

  •  Dr. Godwin Agboka, Technical & Professional Communication
  •  Dr. Julio Canedo, Management
  •  Dr. Dagmar Scharold, English

Excellence in Scholarly/Creative Activity Award

  •  Dr. Katrina Rufino, Psychology
  •  Dr. Amy Baird, Biology
  •  Dr. Heather Goltz, Social Work

Outstanding Lecturer Award

  •  Dr. Meghan Minard, Biology
  •  Dr. Kasi Bundoc, Professional Development
  •  Sam Sen, Natural Sciences

Outstanding Adjunct Award

  •  Mehdi Esmaeiliyan, Natural Sciences
  •  Dr. Charlet Jose, Natural Sciences
  •  Dr. Dalia Sherif, Business

Faculty Development Leave Awards

  •  Dr. Kit Cho, Associate Professor, Psychology
  •  Dr. Jeffrey Martz, Associate Professor, Geology
  •  Dr. Jean Nganou, Associate Professor, Mathematics
  •  Dr. David Ryden, Professor, History
  •  Dr. Rahul Verma, Professor, Finance
  •  Dr. Joseph Westfall, Professor, Philosophy

Recognition of Faculty Years of Service

20 Years

  •  Dr. Austin Allen, Associate Professor, History, Humanities & Languages
  •  Dr. Kristin J. Anderson, Professor, Social Sciences
  •  Dr. Utpal Bose, Professor, Finance & Management Information Systems
  •  Dr. Theresa Ann Case, Professor, History, Humanities & Languages
  •  Dr. Raquel P. Chiquillo, Associate Professor, History, Humanities & Languages
  •  Dr. Steven P. Coy, Professor, Management & Insurance Risk Management
  •  Dr. Kenneth Johnson, Associate Professor, Natural Sciences
  •  Dr. Windy Y. Lawrence, Professor, Arts & Communication
  •  Dr. Peter Li, Associate Professor, Social Sciences
  •  Dr. John Linantud, Associate Professor, Social Sciences
  •  Dr. Justo R. Manrique, Associate Dean, Marilyn Davies College of Business
  •  Dr. Mohsen M. Mobasher, Associate Professor, Social Sciences
  •  Dr. Chynette D. Nealy, Professor, General Business, Marketing & Supply Chain
  •  Dr. William J. Nowak, Associate Professor, History, Humanities & Languages
  •  Dr. Lucille Pointer, Professor, General Business, Marketing & Supply Chain Management

25 Years

  •  Dr. Jane Creighton, Professor, English
  •  Dr. Sandra L. Dahlberg, Professor, English
  •  Dr. Ermelinda DeLaViña, Interim Dean, College of Sciences & Technology
  •  Dr. Poonam Gulati, Director, Quality Enhancement Plan and 
    Community Engagement & Service Learning Center
  •  Dr. Dagmar Scharold, Interim Department Chair, English
  •  Dr. Akif J. Uzman, Interim Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs & Provost

30 Years

Dr. Sara Farris, Associate Professor, English

35 Years

Dr. Charles Smith, Professor, Finance & Management Information Systems

40 Years

Dr. Steve London, Professor, Mathematics & Statistics

“These faculty members reflect the dedication and commitment to institutional excellence that are core to the mission and values of UHD,” said Blanchard. “As many of the award recipients spoke about student success being a fundamental driver of their work, it is clear that the impact being made is resulting in a larger number of UHD graduates who are ready for their careers that lie ahead.”

About the University of Houston-Downtown

The University of Houston-Downtown (UHD)—the second-largest university in Houston—has served the educational needs of the nation’s fourth-largest city since 1974.

As one of four distinct public universities in the University of Houston System, UHD is a comprehensive four-year university led by President Loren J. Blanchard. Annually, UHD educates more than 15,000 students; boasts more than 61,000 alumni and offers 45 bachelor’s, nine master’s degree programs and 16 fully online programs within five colleges (Marilyn Davies College of Business; Humanities & Social Sciences; Public Service; Sciences & Technology; and University College).

For the fourth consecutive year, U.S. News & World Report ranks UHD among universities across the nation for Best Online Criminal Justice Programs (No. 27 and No. 15 for Veterans) and Best Online Bachelor’s Programs.

UHD has the most affordable tuition among four-year universities in Houston and one of the lowest in Texas. U.S. News ranked the University among Top Performers on Social Mobility and a No. 1 ranking as the most diverse institution of higher education in the southern region of the U.S. The University is noted nationally as a Hispanic-Serving Institution, Minority-Serving Institution and Military Friendly School. For more on the University of Houston-Downtown, visit www.uhd.edu.