15:48 PM

Finalists Named for UHD Faculty Awards

In the annual UHD Faculty Awards, UHD honors outstanding professors for their accomplishments in teaching, service and scholarship/creative activity. Finalists for the 2016 UHD Faculty Awards have been announced.

"Those who appear on this list are moving forward from a group of extremely talented nominees," said Rachna Sadana, chair of the Faculty Awards Selection Committee. "Choosing finalists and, ultimately, winners in each award category is a challenging task due to the truly exceptional faculty we have at UHD."

Recipients of the awards will be announced at the Faculty Awards Ceremony in April.

Finalists for awards are listed in alphabetical order.

Excellence in Teaching

  • Maria Gabriela Bowden, Natural Sciences
  • Travis Crone, Social Sciences
  • Judith Harris, Criminal Justice

Excellence in Service

  • Maria Bhattacharjee, Urban Education
  • Susan Henney, Social Sciences
  • Vida Robertson, English

Excellence in Scholarly/Creative Activity

  • Heather Goltz, Social Work
  • Bradley Hoge, Natural Sciences
  • Plamen Simeonov, Mathematics & Statistics

Outstanding Lecturer

  • Ajay Singh, Natural Sciences
  • Dana Smith, Social Work

Outstanding Adjunct

  • Simon Jakubowski, Natural Sciences

Other members of the 2016 UHD Faculty Awards Selection Committee are Amy Baird, Kristen Capuozzo, Lois Dewey, Om Gupta, Felicia Harris, Volodymyr Hrynkiv, Angela Pedrana, Rolando Peláez, Arash Rahmatian, Hsiao-Ming Wang and William Waters.