11:20 AM

Commitment to UHD Recognized During 2017 Staff Awards

On June 16, the University of Houston-Downtown (UHD) community celebrated the accomplishments of its dedicated staff members during the annual Staff Awards. Presented by UHD Staff Council, staff members were recognized for their commitment to the institution and its students. Among the awards presented were the T. Chaney Anderson Excellence Award (named for the longtime administrator who contributed to UHD's growth) and Staff Excellence Awards.

The ceremony—with a casino theme—was hosted by L. DeVrone Suggs, Staff Council treasurer and manager of accounts payable in Business Affairs. At the event, attendees enjoyed refreshments and generous door prizes from local vendors.

Opening remarks were delivered by Dr. Isidro Grau, Staff Council President and director of UHD's Academic Support Center. In his remarks, Grau said that the ceremony is indeed a reflection of the Staff Council's mission—to promote recognition of staff contributions.

"It is our duty to recognize the accomplishments of UHD staff and their dedication to the University," said Grau.

Although the award ceremony is an annual event, it serves as a reminder of the hard work performed by staff members every day. Likewise, it is just one way of spotlighting those staff members who go above the call of duty in their service to the University.

"I would like to thank the UHD staff for the awesome recognition I received at the 2017 UHD Staff Awards," said Tracy Simms, research analyst for Institutional Research and Staff Excellence Award recipient. "I am truly honored and humbled by your thoughtfulness. Your gift is a reminder of the outstanding work we do at UHD and the wonderful team we have developed as well. Thank you again for this recognition."

Recipients of the 2017 Staff Council Awards are as follows:

Staff Excellence Awards

  • Chaney Anderson Distinguished Excellence Award: UHDPD Lt. David DeLeon
  • Staff Excellence Award: Bruce Hunter
  • Staff Excellence Award: Tracy Simms

Service Awards:

5 Years

  • Samuel Bible
  • Pemalatha Chinnasami
  • Jennifer Cornavaca
  • Marquette Dansby
  • Julissa Disla
  • Helen Figueroa
  • Ghanem
  • Kassidy Green
  • Alejandro Hernandez
  • Dale Higginbotham
  • Stephen Kidd
  • Kerry Madole
  • Delia Melendez
  • Natasha Nowlin
  • Evelyn Paige
  • Angela Parrish
  • Reginald Pickens

10 Years

  • Denise Bland
  • Debora Evans
  • Bernice Guillen
  • Jimbo Herrera
  • Erick Hipolito
  • Janet Ibarra
  • Joe Jimenez
  • Jerry Johnson
  • John Lane
  • Spencer Lightsy
  • Sylvia Medellin
  • Juan Mondragon
  • Beverly Moses
  • Lou Ann Naut
  • Bryan Nguyen
  • Mari Nicholson-Preuss
  • Cherilyn Pearson
  • Angel Rocha
  • Vanessa Rojas
  • Olga Sanchez
  • Michael Sheiman
  • Tedra Taylor
  • Paul Tichenor
  • Chole Tran
  • Vanessa Turner
  • Joshua Wood
  • Andrea Zamarripa

15 Years

  • Ashley Andrus
  • Nikhil Bhatt
  • Carol Boethel
  • Maria Estrada
  • Vicente Esquivel
  • Cindy Evans
  • Paulina Harper
  • Cesar Mogollon
  • Paulette Purdy
  • David Ryden
  • Victoria Saucedo
  • Debra Shouldice

20 Years

  • Ruben Diaz
  • Tiffany Luong
  • Miguel Ruiz
  • Jacqueline Smith

25 Years

  • Philip Miller
  • Marie Stone-Gates
  • Frederick Varela

30 Years

  • Mike Compte
  • Marilyn Tabacco

35 Years

  • Oscar DeLaCruz
  • Lloyd Matzner

Academic Awards (recognizing staff members who recently completed an academic degree)

  • Liza Alonzo: Ed.D, Higher Education
  • Cesar Arellano: B.B.A., Finance
  • Rocio Beiza: M.A., Nonprofit Management
  • Tream Charivs: M.A., Conflict Resolution & Reconciliation
  • Consuela M. Cooper: Ph.D. Education- Leadership, Policy and Change
  • Hernan Jimenez: B.S., Safety Management
  • Teryana Lamb: Ed.D. - Educational Administration- Higher Education Administration
  • Maegen Lane: MBA, Management
  • Spencer Lightsy: MA, Nonprofit Management
  • Yolanda Melendez: M.S.S. Intelligence, Security Studies & Analysis
  • Marti Trummer: Ph.D., Counseling Psychology
  • Dustin Yates: M.S., Geophysics; Petroleum Geophysics
  • Sydney Zenon: M.S., Digital Communication

Retiree Awards

  • Joyce Collins
  • Alice Estrada
  • Edward Hall
  • Michelle Henninghaus
  • Ernest Nicely
  • Marilyn Tabacco
  • Jacqueline Trahan
  • Mario Valero
  • Lola Washington
  • Rex White
  • Joseph Wynne
  • Liang Yueh

Fun Awards

  • Rookie of the Year: Krysti Turnquest
  • Whistle While You Work: Albert Gilmore
  • Goes the Extra Mile: Beverly Moses
  • Best Boss: UHDPD Sgt. Jaime Cortez
  • Rising Star: Julie Norton
About the University of Houston-Downtown

The University of Houston-Downtown (UHD) is the second-largest university in Houston and has served the educational needs of the nation’s fourth-largest city since 1974. As one of four distinct public universities in the University of Houston System, UHD is a comprehensive, four-year university led by President Loren J. Blanchard. Annually, UHD educates approximately 14,000 students, boasts more than 66,000 alumni, and offers 45 bachelor’s degrees, 12 master’s degrees, and 19 online programs within four colleges: Marilyn Davies College of Business, College of Humanities and Social Sciences, College of Public Service, and College of Sciences and Technology. UHD has one of the lowest tuition rates in Texas.

U.S. News and World Report ranked UHD among the nation’s Best Online Bachelor’s Programs for Applied Administration and Best Online Master’s Programs in Criminal Justice, as well as a Top Performer in Social Mobility. The Wall Street Journal/College Pulse ranked UHD one of the best colleges in the U.S. for its 2024 rankings, with notable distinctions: No. 1 for diversity (tied) and No. 3 for student experience. The University is designated as a Hispanic-Serving Institution, a Minority-Serving Institution, and a Military Friendly School. For more information on the University of Houston-Downtown, visit uhd.edu.