Campus and Community

Congratulations 2018 Faculty Award Recipients

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The University of Houston-Downtown’s Faculty Senate presented the 2018 Faculty Awards on April 17 to recognize those professors, lecturers and adjunct instructors who are providing exceptional service to students, the community and University.

“I am honored and privileged to serve in this role as a colleague and to recognize and celebrate the remarkable faculty who are here,” said Dr. Juan Sánchez Muñoz, UHD President.

Winners (denoted in bold) and finalists are as follows:

Outstanding Adjunct
Richard Simonds, Criminal Justice & Social Work (Winner)
Dalia Sherif, Arts & Communication

Outstanding Lecturer
Abigail Koenig, Arts & Communication (Winner)
Meghan Minard, Natural Sciences
Angela Goins, Criminal Justice & Social Work

Excellence in Scholarly/Creative Activity
Dr. Ray Qing Cao, General Business, Marketing & Supply Chain (Winner)
Dr. Rebecca Pfeffer, Criminal Justice and Social Work
Dr. Jeffrey Martz, Natural Sciences

Excellence in Service
Dr. Trevor Hale, Management & Insurance Management (Winner)
Dr. Vida Robertson, History, Humanities, and Languages
Dr. Lisa Morano, Natural Sciences

Excellence in Teaching
Dr. Elizabeth Hatfield, Arts & Communication (Winner)
Dr. Judith Harris, Criminal Justice and Social Work
Dr. Sandra Dahlberg, English

Faculty Development Leave Awards
Dr. Travis Crone, Social Sciences
Dr. Janusz Grebowicz, Natural Sciences
Dr. Anne Kane, Social Sciences
Dr. Dawn McCarty, Criminal Justice & Social Work
Dr. Michael Duncan, English

20 Years of Service
Dr. Irene Linlin Chen, Urban Education
Dr. Michelle J. Mossally, English

25 Years of Service
Dr. Leena Thacker-Kumar, Political Science

30 Years of Service
Dr. Penny Morris-Smith, Biology
Dr. Mitsue Nakamura, Mathematics
Dr. Mary Elizabeth Pelz, Criminal Justice
Dr. Marvin J. Williams, Accounting

35 Years of Service
Dr. Hank Roubicek, Communication Studies
Dr. William A. Waller, Mathematics

40 Years of Service
Dr. Edward R. Sheinberg, Engineering Technology