Campus and Community

Faculty Award Winners Announced

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

UHD professors, lecturers and adjuncts were celebrated for their accomplishments in teaching, service, and scholarly/creative activities at the annual Faculty Awards ceremony on Tuesday, April 18 in Robertson Auditorium. New UHD President Dr. Juan Sánchez Muñoz delivered the opening remarks and congratulated this year’s finalists.

In addition to the faculty awardees, the event also recognized awardees for faculty development leave, faculty years of service and faculty mentors. This year’s event also included two new categories acknowledging faculty—Outstanding Adjunct and Outstanding Lecturer.

2017 Faculty Awards Recipients

Excellence in Teaching
Hank Roubicek, Arts and Humanities
Judith Harris, Criminal Justice
Eszter Trufan, Natural Sciences

Excellence in Service
Ryan Pepper, Mathematics and Statistics
Maria Bhattacharjee, Urban Education
Ashley Blackburn, Criminal Justice

Excellence in Scholarly/Creative Activity
Floyd Newsum, Arts and Humanities
Katrina Rufino, Social Sciences
Michael Tobin, Natural Sciences

Outstanding Adjunct
Charles Pelz, Criminal Justice
Joshua Reynolds, Social Work
Dalia Sherif, Davies College of Business

Outstanding Lecturer
Bridget Mueller, Arts and Humanities
Angela Goins, Social Work
Abigail Koenig, Arts and Humanities
Adriana Visbal, Natural Sciences