Campus and Community / Faculty and Staff

Finalists Named for 2017 UHD Faculty Awards

The University of Houston-Downtown (UHD) Faculty Awards Assembly acknowledges the University’s professors, lecturers, and adjuncts for their accomplishments in teaching, service, and scholarly/creative activities at its annual UHD Faculty Awards ceremony on Tuesday, April 18.  New UHD President Dr. Juan Sánchez Muñoz will deliver opening remarks.

In addition to the faculty awardees, the event also will feature faculty development leave awardees, recognition of faculty years of service and faculty mentors.  The event will run from 2:30 to 4 p.m. in  Robertson Auditorium and followed by a reception in the Academic Building, A300.

Finalists for the 2017 Faculty Awards:

Excellence in Teaching

  • Judith Harris, Criminal Justice
  • Hank Roubicek, Arts and Humanities
  • Eszter Trufan, Natural Sciences

Excellence in Service

  • Maria Bhattacharjee, Urban Education
  • Ashley Blackburn, Criminal Justice
  • Ryan Pepper, Mathematics and Statistics

Excellence in Scholarly/Creative Activity

  • Floyd Newsum, Arts and Humanities
  • Katrina Rufino, Social Sciences
  • Michael Tobin, Natural Sciences

Outstanding Adjunct

  • Charles Pelz, Criminal Justice
  • Joshua Reynolds, Social Work
  • Dalia Sherif, Davies College of Business

Outstanding Lecturer

  • Angela Goins, Social Work
  • Abigail Koenig, Arts and Humanities
  • Bridget Mueller, Arts and Humanities
  • Adriana Visbal, Natural Sciences